Power and Politics

Chairs: Donna Lofgren and Aaron Nurick

Omni Parker House
Boston, Massachusetts

A number of the best papers from the Symposium have been published in a special edition of the Journal of Psycho-Social Studies and are available here.

Thursday, June 19

8:30 Welcome and Opening Remarks

ISPSO President: Susan Long, Ph.D.

Symposium Co-Chairs:
Donna Lofgren, Ph.D and Aaron Nurick, Ph.D.

9:00 –10:30 Invited Opening Plenary Address

The Politics of Hatred
Robert Pyles, M.D.
rpyles@attbi.com

Moderator: Donna Lofgren, Ph.D.
dpialof@gsinet.net

10:30 – 11:00 Break
11:00 – 12:30 Parallel Papers Session 1

Convener: Edward Klein, Ph.D.
Edward.klein@uc.edu

Public is Not the Same as Private
Professor Paul Hoggett
Paul.hoggett@uwe.ac.uk

Moderator:
William Czander, Ph.D.
czander@fordham.edu

"Victimhood" and the Exclusion of the Other: From a Women's Organization to National and Global Politics
Judith Levy, Ph.D. and Ilana Litman, M.A., M.Sc.
Judith.levy@huji.ac.il
litvin@zahav.net.il

Moderator:
Lilian Hupkens, M.Sc., M.P.C.
hupkensmgtcnslt@cs.com

The Anti-Globalisation Movement and its Discontents: The Real Issues for Organizations
Eyal Pavell, Ph.D.
Eyal.pavell@personneldecisions.com

Moderator:
Malachi O’Connor, Ph.D.
moconnor@mail.cfar.com

The Confusion of Dreams between Selves and the Other: A Psychoanalytic View of the Political Reality in Social Dreaming
E. Martin Walker, Ph.D.
walkerdoc@aol.com

Moderator:
W. Gordon Lawrence, M.A., Dr. rer oec.
wglawrence@aol.com

12: 30 – 2:00 Lunch
2:00 – 3:30 Plenary Paper

Facts: What's the Good of Change? (pdf)
Philip Boxer, B.Sc., M.Sc., C.M.C
p.boxer@brl.com

Moderator:
Kenneth Eisold, Ph.D.
Keneisold@aol.com

3:30 – 4:00 Break
4:00 – 5:30 Parallel Paper Session 2

Swimming with Sharks: The Politics of Survival in the Large Group
Stanley Gold, M.D.
stanleygold@bigpond.com

Moderator:
Marlene Spero, Ph.D.
mspero@easynet.co.uk

Politics, Strategy and Passion
Larry Hirschhorn, Ph.D.
lhirschhorn@mail.cfar.com

Moderator:
James Hunt, Ph.D.
huntj@babson.edu

Organization of Politics (in the case of the U.S.C.P.A. Program in Japan)
Joichi Ogawa, Ph.D.
joichiogawa@aol.com

Moderator:
Terry Martin, Ph.D.
tpm@soton.ac.uk

Powerlessness in Care-Giving Professions: A Qualitative Study from a Lacanian Framework
Stijn Vanheule, Ph.D.
Stijn.vanheule@rug.ac.be

Moderator:
Thomas Hoffman, M.D.
thoffmd@worldnet.att.net

The Social Dynamics of Fundamentalism
Simon Western, M.A.
simon@western-consulting.com

Moderator:
Monica Weil, M.B.A., M.S.
mweil3@msn.com

5:30 – 6:00 Reflections on the day
6:00 – 7:30 Reception

Friday, June 20

9:00 – 10:30 Plenary Paper

Necessary Fantasy and the Politics of Disappointment: A Case Study of Virtual Organization
Elizabeth Blaylock, M.A and Alida Zweidler-McKay, M.B.A
eblaylock@mail.cfar.com
azweidlermckay@mail.cfar.com

Moderator:
Susan Long, Ph.D.
slong@groupwise.swin.edu.au

10:30 – 11:00 Break
11:00 – 12:30 Parallel Papers Session 3

Convener: Daniel Frank, Ph.D.
danfrank@fwparker.org

The Politics of Self Interest in Organizations: Overpowering the Primary Task
James Dalgleish, Ph.D. candidate
refocus@corplink.com.au

Moderator:
Rosemary Booth, M.A., M.C.R.P.
rbooth@boothworks.com

The Psychodynamics of Leadership Exits (pdf format)
Thomas Gilmore, Ph.D.
tgilmore@mail.cfar.com

Moderator:
Clare Huffington, MSc.C.Psychol. A.F.B.P.S., M.T.S.P.
chuffington@tavi-port.org

Follow the Leader...? Leadership and Followership, Seduction and Persecution in Groups and Institutions
Ross Lazar, B.A, M.A.T.
ralazar@t-online.de

Moderator:
Hannah Piterman, Ph.D.
mhumanre@bigpond.net.au

Politics, Power, Knowledge and Consultancy
Lionel Stapley, Ph.D.
lionelstapley@msn.com

Moderator:
David Armstrong, B.A.
darmstrong@tavi-port.org

12:30 – 2:00 Lunch
2:00 – 3:30 Invited Plenary Address

The Maturation of American Identity: The Elections of 1996 and 2000 and the War on Terrorism
Edward Shapiro, M.D.
Edward.shapiro@austenriggs.net

Moderator:
Aaron J. Nurick, Ph.D.
anurick@bentley.edu

3:30 – 4:00 Break
4:00 – 5:30 Parallel Papers Session 4

Convener: Paula Singer, Ph.D.
Psinger934@aol.com

How to Help Employees Undergoing Restructuring to get a Holdon the World
Maryse Dubouloy, Ph.D.
Maryse.dubouloy@wanadoo.fr

Moderator:
Judith Levy, Ph.D.
Judith.levy@huji.ac.il

Corrupt Groups in Contemporary Corporations: Outside Boards and Inside Traders
Kenneth Eisold, Ph.D.
keneisold@aol.com

Moderator:
Ulrich Beumer
Inscape.coesfeld@t-online.de

Exploring the Psychodynamics of Corporate Succession Planning
Marisa Guerin, Ph.D. and Birge D. (Ric) Reichard, Ph.D.
mlguerin@bellatlantic.net
BDR@intercom.net

Moderator:
Michael Diamond, Ph.D.
diamond@missouri.edu

Leadership, Betrayal and Adaptation
James Krantz, Ph.D.
James.krantz@verizon.net

Moderator:
Jon Stokes, Dip.Clin.Psych.
js@jstokes.u-net.com

5:30 – 6:00 Reflections on the Day
6:00 - 7:30 Cocktails
7:30 - Dinner in honor of ISPSO founders

Saturday, June 21

9:00 – 10:30 Plenary Paper

Managing Persecutory and Depressive Anxieties: A Long-term Consultation to the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
Rina Bar-Lev Elieli, Psy.D and Laurence Gould, Ph.D.
rineliel@zahav.net.il
LarGould@aol.com

Moderator:
Allan Souter, Ph.D.
alsou@hotkey.net.au

10:30 – 11:00 Break
11:00 – 12:30 Parallel Papers Session 5

Convener: James Hunt, D.B.A.
huntj@babson.edu

Out of Our Minds - A Study in Organisational Change
Miranda Alcock
Miranda@consultation.demon.co.uk

Moderator:
Ernest Fruge, Ph.D.
edfruge@txccc.org

The Power of Money (pdf format)
Gilles Arnaud, Ph.D.
g.arnaud@esc-toulouse.fr

Moderator:
R. Bonnie Haber, M.A.
RBHaber@aol.com

Psychoanalysts Consulting to Organizations: Opportunities and Obstacles
Joint Panel, ISPSO and the Committee on Corporate Consulting of the American Psychoanalytic Association

Kerry Sulkowicz, M.D., APsaA, Chair, Public Information Committee

Ken Settel, M.D., APsaA, Co-Chair, Committee on Corporate Consulting

Jon Stokes, Dip. Clin. Psych., ISPSO, Past President; former Director, Tavistock Centre's Consultancy Service

Stanley Gold, M.D., Senior Lecturer and Chair. Centre for Psychodynamic Studies, Department of Psychological Medicine, Monash University, Melbourne, Australia

Chair: Kenneth Eisold, Ph.D., ISPSO, President-Elect; Co-Chair, APsaA's Committee on Corporate Consulting

Psychoanalytic Thoughts on 9/11
Dr. Hans-Jurgen Wirth
Hans-juergen.wirth@psychosozial-verlag.de

Moderator:
Robert Lipgar, Ph.D.
rlipgardr@hvc.rr.com

12:30 – 2:00 Lunch
2:00 – 3:30 Parallel Papers 6

Convener: Allan Souter, Ph.D.
alsou@hotkey.net.au

The Pact with the State—The Politico-Technical System
Elizabeth Henderson, B.A., A.P.S.W.
Gpm34@dial.pipex.com

Moderator:
drs. Hans Blom, psychologist N.I.P.
blom@euronet.nl

The Economy of Vengeance: Some Socio-analytic Considerations on the Aetiology and Meaning of the Business of Revenge
Dr. Burkard Sievers and Rose Redding Mersky, M.S.
sievers@wiwi.uni-wuppertal.de
RRM@redwoodexec.com

Moderator:
Lionel Stapley, Ph.D.
lionelstapley@msn.com

The Origins of Violence in Groups: How Levinas' Thinking Can Guide Us Towards an Ethical Group Relations Theory
Murray Gordon, M.Sc., M.A, M.A.H.P
murray@livingphilosophy.org

Moderator:
Ross Lazar, B.A, M.A.T.
ralazar@t-online.de

3:30 – 4:00 Closing of Symposium and Transfer of ISPSO Presidency

Outgoing President: Susan Long, Ph.D.
Incoming President: Kenneth Eisold, Ph.D.

Introduction of ISPSO 2004 Symposium
Ulrich Beumer, Symposium Chair
8:00 Boston Pops Concert

©2018 ISPSO

International Society for the Psychoanalytic Study of Organizations | Privacy Policy

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

Skip to toolbar